Synology NAS tip – How to find out if a user is currently connected to our NAS.

If a user happens to be working in a network share while you reboot or update your NAS. It is possible that they could lose their data. So in this video, we take a look at how you can easily find out if a user is connected to your Synology NAS. We can then warn that user that we are about to reboot our NAS, and have them save their work and log out of their account.

Quick reference notes:

  • Log into Disk Station Manager using your Administrators credentials
  • Locate and select Widgets
  • From within the Widgets panel that appears you will find a + Select Widgets icon
  • When you choose Select Widgets a drop down menu will appear
  • From the list choose Connected Users
  • Within the Connected User Widget will be listed users who are connected to your NAS.

Note: The Connected User Widget does not update in real time. So it might take up to 30 seconds before you see a connected user listed.

Note: The Kill Connection command does not seem to work all that consistently. So more than likely you will have to disconnect a user from your NAS, via their computer rather than by using the Kill Connection command.

Reference materials:

Advertisement




You can also follow us on