How to return a Sony PlayStation 5 back to its factory defaults

In this video, we take a look at how you perform a factory reset on a Sony Playstation 5. As performing a factory reset will delete all user accounts, game saves and data from your console. You would typically perform this action if you intend to sell, give away or decommission your PlayStation 5. However, you might also choose to perform a factory reset in order to troubleshoot your PS5.

Note: This process will not delete your PlayStation Network (PSN) account. Instead your PSN account can only be deleted from Sony’s servers. So before factory resetting your console, we recommend that you note down your PSN account details and make a backup of all game saves and data that you might want to keep.

Quick reference notes:

  • From the PS5 Home Screen
  • Locate and select SettingsSystemSystem Software
  • From within System Software we need to choose Reset Options
  • Now select Reset Your Console

Note: When you perform a factory reset, your console will not revert to a previous firmware version. Instead the PS5 will remain on the version of System Software that it is currently using.

Reference materials: