www.mydoodads.com

Menu

Having to connect before reconnecting to a server on macOS

Apple - Articles - macOS

Issue:

Even though you have saved your username and password to the Keychain on your Apple Macintosh computer, whenever you attempt to connect to a network share you are still prompted to connect.

Resolution:

The above action was added to macOS Sierra (10.12) and above. This action has been classed as a “security feature” by Apple as it “helps you to avoid transmitting login credentials to a server you didn’t intent to connect to”.

While Apple recommend that you should leave this feature enabled. To disable this security feature you need to do the following:

  • Ensure you have installed┬ámacOS Sierra 10.12.2 or above.
  • Open Terminal, which can be found in your Applications folder.
  • Enter the following:
 sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.NetworkAuthorization AllowUnknownServers -bool YES 
  • When you press the Enter key you will be prompted to enter your administrator name and password.
  • To re-enable┬áthis security feature you would enter the following into the Terminal:
 sudo defaults delete write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.NetworkAuthorization AllowUnknownServers